The Old School, a unique
village inn, was once the actual village school. It was built in
1874 for the Falmouth Board on land donated by Lord Falmouth, when
education became compulsory. In those days it was called an
“Elementary School” and catered for children between the ages of
five and fourteen. It was closed in 1938/39 owing to a lack of
pupils be was re-opened in 1941 mainly to house evacuees.
Following the 1945 Education
Act it became a Primary School for children between the ages of five
and eleven and continued as such until 1986 when the new school
across the road was built.
The school was renovated and
re-opened as a pub in 1988 by the present owners – Ron and Jan